On 30 September 2015, the Small Island Developing States (SIDS) Sustainable Energy and Climate Resilience Initiative – SIDS DOCK – celebrated the entry into force of the SIDS DOCK Treaty, recognising the establishment of the historic intergovernmental organisation vested with the full powers of the United Nations (UN). The Ceremony of the Establishment of SIDS DOCK was chaired by Dr. The Hon. Ralph Everard Gonsalves, Prime Minister of Saint Vincent and the Grenadines and Acting Chair of the SIDS DOCK Steering Committee, in the absence of the Hon. Roosevelt Skerrit, Prime Minister of the Commonwealth of Dominica and Chair of the SIDS DOCK Steering Committee, who was unavoidably absent due to the destructive impacts of Tropical Storm Erika, in August 2015.

From left to right: His Excellency Mr. Elliston Rahming, Permanent Representative of the Commonwealth of the Bahamas to the United Nations; Hon. Wilfred Peter Elrington, Minister of Foreign Affairs of Belize; Hon. Francine Baron, Minister of Foreign Affairs of the Commonwealth of Dominica; Dr. The Hon. Ralph Everard Gonsalves; Hon. Clarise Modeste, Minister of Foreign Affairs of Grenada; Hon. Tuilaepa Lupesoliai Sailed Malielegaoi, Prime Minister of the Independent State of Samoa; Hon. Taukelina Finikaso, Minister of Foreign Affairs of Tuvalu; and His Excellency Mr. Ronald Jean Jumeau, Ambassador with responsibility for Climate Change and SIDS Issues of the Republic of Seychelles.

For more information:
Mr. Al Binger, Energy Advisor, CARICOM Climate Change Centre, SIDS DOCK Coordinator, abinger@sidsdock.org

We use cookies to give you the best online experience. By agreeing you accept the use of cookies in accordance with our cookie policy.

Privacy Settings saved!
Privacy Settings

When you visit any web site, it may store or retrieve information on your browser, mostly in the form of cookies. Control your personal Cookie Services here.

These cookies are necessary for the website to function and cannot be switched off in our systems.

In order to use this website we use the following technically required cookies
  • wordpress_test_cookie
  • wordpress_logged_in_
  • wordpress_sec

Decline all Services
Accept all Services