9 December 2019, United Nations Headquarters, New York, U.S.A.: SIDS DOCK, the Small Island Developing States (SIDS) Sustainable Energy and Climate Resilience Organization, established in 2015, with all the rights and privileges of the United Nations (UN), is pleased to announce the election of three (3) new members to the governing SIDS DOCK Executive Council. His Excellency Dr. The Right Honourable Keith Mitchell, Prime Minister of Grenada and President of the Assembly of SIDS DOCK, announced that the new members will take office on 1 January 2020, replacing the retiring 2017-2019 cohort of the SIDS DOCK Executive Council members.

In accordance with paragraph 6 of Article 6 of the SIDS DOCK Statute, the new SIDS DOCK Executive Council members were elected by the Assembly of SIDS DOCK. The Assembly is the supreme organ of the SIDS DOCK Organisation and is composed of all the member governments. The Council is responsible for overall policy and direction and for providing oversight and advice for the development of the organization and to consider and approve the annual SIDS DOCK work programme and budget. The Executive Council delegates responsibility for day-to-day operations to the Secretary-General and committees. The three new members of the SIDS DOCK Executive Council are:

His Excellency Mr. Conrad Hunte, Permanent Representative to the International Renewable Energy Agency (IRENA), Ambassador / Deputy Permanent Representative of Antigua and Barbuda to the United Nations (2020 to 2022)
Dr. Peter Allen, Chief Executive Officer (CEO) for the Ministry of Public Service, Energy and Public Utilities, Belize (2019 to 2020)
Senator The Hon. Pearnel P. Charles, Jr., Minister without Portfolio with responsibility for Water, Housing and Infrastructure, Ministry of Economic Growth and Job Creation, Office of the Prime Minister, Jamaica (2020-2022)

The  Executive Council comprises nine (9) member government representatives who serve in their official capacities, with due consideration being given to equitable regional distribution encompassing the Caribbean, Pacific, and Atlantic and Indian Oceans, and gender representation. Appointed members of the  Executive Council are nominated by their country’s government and serve in an individual capacity.

Executive Council member selection is based on achieving, to the extent possible, geographic and gender balance, with due regard to major academic, scientific, educational and cultural trends, as well as each member’s field(s) of expertise. His Excellency Mr. Ronny J. Jumeau, Ambassador and Permanent Representative of Seychelles to the UN, is the current Chair of the Executive Council (2018-2020). The other members serving on the Council are:

Dr. Rhianna M. Neely-Murphy, Environmental Officer, Ministry of Environment and Housing – The Commonwealth of the Bahamas – Rapporteur (2018-2020)
Her Excellency Ms. Keisha McGuire, Ambassador and Permanent Representative of Grenada to the UN (2019)
His Excellency Mr. Jadgish Dharamchand Koonjul, Ambassador and Permanent Representative of the Republic of Mauritius to the UN (2017-2019)
Mr. Sione Foliaki, Assistant Chief Executive Officer, Energy Policy Coordination & Management Division, Ministry of Finance, Government of the Independent State of Samoa (2019-2021)
Dr. Tevita Tukunga, Director of Energy, Ministry of Meteorology, Energy, Information, Disaster Management, Environment, Climate Change, & Communications, Government of the Kingdom of Tonga (2019-2021) His Excellency
H.E. Mr. Samuelu Laloniu, Ambassador and Permanent Representative of Tuvalu to the UN (2017-2019)

The Executive Council members are responsible for promoting SIDS DOCK, and provide guidance and support to the organisation’s mission to catalyse the transformation of the energy sector of Small Island Developing States to increase energy security, reduce greenhouse gas emissions (GHG), and generate resources for investment in adaptation to climate change.   The next (7th) meeting of the SIDS DOCK Executive Council will convene at UN Headquarters, in New York, in September 2020.


Download Press Release


Contact:          Christine Neves Duncan, Projects Director, SIDS DOCK

                           cduncan@sidsdock.org; secretariat@sidsdock.org

We use cookies to give you the best online experience. By agreeing you accept the use of cookies in accordance with our cookie policy.

Privacy Settings saved!
Privacy Settings

When you visit any web site, it may store or retrieve information on your browser, mostly in the form of cookies. Control your personal Cookie Services here.

These cookies are necessary for the website to function and cannot be switched off in our systems.

In order to use this website we use the following technically required cookies
  • wordpress_test_cookie
  • wordpress_logged_in_
  • wordpress_sec

Decline all Services
Accept all Services